The Message

Wow, I can’t believe it is mid March already.  The good news it is time again for the track of the week.  I wanted to get this out before Friday the 13th in case something bad happens that will prevent us from bringing the weekly dose of music to the people.  This particular track has been stuck in my head for weeks and I just couldn’t place what it was.  Yesterday it just clicked and I recalled what it was.  I immediately threw this on my turntable when I got home from work.  I picked up this album a few months ago and I haven’t had too much time to really give it a good listen.  Cymande, a London based group, was a short lived band from the early 70s that mixed reggae, rock, funk, afro beat and soul.  They toured with the likes of Al Green and Mandrill here in the States but never obtained superstar status.  This particular track, I believe was their highest charting single which was off of their first release, self titled Cymande.  They embarked on a reunion tour in Europe last year and I recommend if they pass through your town to check them out.  Without further ado, here is Cymande with “The Message”.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

