Birthday Vinyl

So today is my birthday and surprise surprise I got some new records.  I don’t have too many newer vinyl so it is always a treat.  I received a couple Thievery Corporation and Bonobo records.  If you haven’t heard of them you need to educate yoself.  I have seen Thievery Corporation at Coachella, Outsidelands in San Francisco and Governors Ball in New York City.  I highly recommend their live shows.  They usually have a DJ, live band, and guest singers.  Their guest singers have included the likes of Seu Jorge and David Byrne.  I have seen Bonobo only once at the El Rey in Los Angeles which is one of my favorite venues.  He had a full band and absolutely killed it.  Lets just say the Brazilian crew we rolled with loved it.  The music is little more uptempo but definitely still has the chill factor.  He has graced the soundtrack of Sprout which is one of our favorite surf films over here at Theostyley.  In honor of this once a year event I will give you a double dose of musically therapy.  I want to dedicate these tracks to my lovely wife who gave me these albums on vinyl, Joelby who was with me at both of the California Thievery shows, and the man, the myth, the legend, Mr. Theo himself who most definitely loves Sprout and the twin findangle sequence that always gets played over and over and over…………

Bday gifts

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

